My Valentine post

Sweet and nutty honey muffins

 

I am not sappy (except when it comes to my kid). I am a no nonsense, logical, practical person (when it comes to everyone else). My own mind and heart, that’s another story for another day.  So the best I could do to come up with a Valentine recipe was something sweet with a sweet word in the title. Nothing with sprinkles, chocolate, pink or red hearts.   Nothing against any of that stuff, because I love it, and go crazy for it at Target.  But this is a brunch muffin, a “hey I really like you so why don’t you have a muffin and watch bad tv with me” treat.  Or a “hey you are a great friend, have a muffin that is a bit sweet but super awesome” muffin.  Try it, see what you think, and don’t save the sweet love stuff just for the holiday, because we all like to hear it all year round.

 

1 cup all purpose flour

½ tsp cinnamon

pinch of ground cloves and nutmeg

12 T room temp unsalted butter

2 T honey (I used organic, any type will do)

Zest of 2 oranges

4 eggs, lightly beaten

1 ¼ cups chopped fine walnuts (or pecans)

 

Topping

3 T minced walnuts (I used my food processor)

½ tsp cinnamon

3 T honey

Juice of 2 oranges

  

Preheat oven to 375 degrees

Line 12 muffin tins with muffin/cupcake liners

 

Sift flour, spices into a bowl

Beat butter and sugar in the mixer until fluffy, add honey and orange zest (use less if you don’t like a lot of citrus flavor)

Add eggs, one at a time beating well after each one

Fold in flour mixture, stir in chopped nuts and spoon into liners

 

Bake for 20-25 minutes, or until a toothpick comes out clean

 

Make topping by mixing minced walnuts and cinnamon.  Heat honey and orange juice on stove under low heat until combined, about five minutes

 

Let muffins cool for about 20 minutes, then using a fork poke a hole into each one, adding a drizzle of the honey orange mixture.  Sprinkle walnut mixture on top, serving immediately or at room temp, kept up to four days

 

 

sweet nutty muffins

One thought on “My Valentine post”

Leave a comment