Peach cobbler scones

Culinary school.  I am not going to gush about it, because it was brutal for me. I pushed myself in ways I never knew I was capable, and I learned so much about myself (that part I am proud of)  And yes I would do it again if I had to go back, but I enjoy baking when I want to, and that is where I want to stay.  This is not a cautionary tale to sway people from it, because I made some awesome friends and learned so much that I never would have on my own.  And I wouldn’t have come up with this recipe for peach cobbler scones.  It was for a final, and I think they turned out amazing. I kept the fruit chunky because I like that look and taste of it, knowing that you are getting juicy bits in every bite.  Have a scone.  Or two 

 

Peach cobbler scones

 

2 cups AP flour

2 T sugar

1 T baking powder

1 tsp kosher salt

1 tsp cinnamon

½ stick cold butter grated (use cheese grater or microplane)

½ cup frozen peaches

1 egg yolk

1 cup half and half  (I add a splash of heavy whipping cream for fun)

¼ tsp vanilla or almond extract

 

Preheat oven to 450 (if your oven runs hot, stick to 425)

 

In a large bowl, mix flour, sugar, baking powder, salt, and cinnamon. Add butter to flour mixture, mixing until crumbly.

Add peaches to flour mixture, coating until mixed together

Beat egg, half and half and vanilla, add to flour mixture

 

On flour surface, roll out and cut into triangles with pizza cutter or knife (doesn’t have to be pretty, just delicious)

 

On a parchment or slipat lined baking sheet, bake until brown 12-14 minutes

 

Can be kept at room temp covered tightly for three days

 Image

Image

Leave a Reply

