Gran’s cowboy coffee cake

Things I have learned over the years:

1. snakes come in many different forms, shapes, and sizes

2. you can’t always forgive something no matter how much you want to

3. your heart can be pretty dumb

4. funny is sexy

5. my gran’s coffee cake rocks

I am not sure why this is called cowboy coffee cake, maybe some hot men in Wranglers made this over a campfire while waiting to rustle some cows.  When I asked Gran, she started talking about Henry (the cat) so it’s a mystery.  But it’s bomb and so simple.  She makes them as muffins usually, but I did it as a loaf and it was just as yummy warm with some butter on it.  With the busy season in full swing, this would be great to make for brunch or last minute uninvited guests. 

Gran’s cowboy coffee cake

1 1/4 cups all purpose flour

1 cup brown sugar

1/4 tsp kosher salt

1/3 cup cold unsalted butter cut into pieces

1 tsp baking powder

1/4 tsp baking soda

1/4 tsp nutmeg

1/4 tsp cinnamon

1/2 cup buttermilk or sour milk (regular milk is fine)

1 beaten lg egg

Preheat oven to 375 degrees

Spray small loaf pan and line bottom with parchment paper, or line muffin tin with liners (makes 6 muffins)

Mix flour, sugar, salt, and butter until crumbly, reserve 1/4 cup for topping

Add baking powder, baking soda, and spices to remaining flour mixture, mix well

Add milk and egg, mix until combined (batter will be a bit thick)

Pour into muffin tins or loaf pan. Sprinkle with reserved crumb mixture

Bake for 18-20 minutes for muffins, 30-35 minutes for loaf pan or until a tester comes out clean

Let cool for 15 minutes and serve, or let cool to room temperature and keep covered tightly for up to four days. Warm and serve with a small pat of butter for extra awesomeness

Image

 

Image

9 thoughts on “Gran’s cowboy coffee cake”

  1. Firstly, thank you! I keep forgetting to ask Gran for this recipe, and I need to make sure my kids grow up with cowboy coffee cake.

    Secondly, I remember always making this in a bigger baking pan, like a 13×9. Will I need to double this recipe for that amount?

    1. yes I needed this at home and it worked out great. I think double at least, what I have made just a small loaf pan. I am thinking a 9×9 honestly.

  2. I love the “mystery” in the name. It makes the recipe that much better! 🙂 (& I had a cat named Henry too :))
    I love coffee cake and this looks like such an easy one to whip up- Thanks!!

    1. a little mystery does make it fun for sure! She loves Henry, they are buddies. Super quick to whip up and delicious. Thanks!

    1. she’s a riot. I think you get to a certain age and just do what you want. she has taught me so much. she’s a damn fine cook too

Leave a Reply

