From the can to the pie pan sweet potato pie

A follower requested an easy sweet potato pie recipe for the busy family. I took a couple of days to think over an easy recipe to come up with, consulted with my creative team (my co-workers, family) and I came up with this one bowl recipe. It’s quick, easy, great for a last minute holiday get together, or for the main Thanksgiving dessert, because you will be able to bake it (double it if you want) and forget about it. You can use your time to perfect those mashed potatoes, drink more wine, or just take a quick nap. 

My friend and co-worker Melanie came up with the name, so if you hate it, blame her 🙂 

Easy sweet potato pie

1 40 oz can of sweet potatoes, drained and rinsed

1 can of sweet condensed milk 

2 tsp pumpkin pie spice or a combo of 1 tsp cinnamon, 1 tsp nutmeg 

3 eggs

1 tsp vanilla extract

1/2 tsp kosher salt

Unbaked pie crust (fresh homemade or frozen)

Preheat oven to 425 degrees

Add all ingredients to a big bowl and mash with a potato masher or puree with an immersion blender

whisk out any lumps and pour into the unbaked pie crust

Bake for 15 minutes, then reduce heat to 375 and cook for 30-40 minutes or a toothpick comes out clean

Let sit for 15 minutes before serving. Can serve immediately or wrap tightly, can be kept at room temperature for up to 3 days. 

Garnish with ice cream or whipped cream

Image

4 thoughts on “From the can to the pie pan sweet potato pie”

  1. I love your posts so much.
    They remind me of really wholesome home made food. I just wish there were more photos so I could eat this with my eyes when I don’t have the ingredients.

    1. Samantha, thank you so much! That means a lot, and I love your description. I will post more pictures, believe me I take a lot, I just don’t want to be a picture crazy lady 🙂

Leave a Reply

