Camping (sorta) and butternut squash soup

I had a whole reflective post on camping. Wide open air, peacefulness, one with nature. And then I thought “yeah they want to hear about how I tripped down two steps, got drunk at 3pm, and was on alert for imaginary bears” So that sums up my camping. It was posh, catered, full of laughs and a great time. I took three coats (you just never know) a Kate Spade purse, my Uggs and my Ipad. So let’s just say I wasn’t exactly hunting for my dinner. But I did watch the other girls fish, so I feel I really connected with nature. From a bench. I would go back and do it again, sleep in a queen size bed with a heater, stocked fridge and warm socks. I am so rustic! 

Image

But Friday night I made butternut squash soup. Which is a great thing to have at a campsite, at home on a cool night, for lunch, or whenever you feel like making soup. 

 

Roasted butternut squash soup 

2 butternut squashes cut up into cubes, or two bags of frozen squash

3 tablespoons butter, cut up into small pieces

1 medium yellow onion diced

2 granny smith apples peeled and diced

2 bay leaves

1/4 tsp nutmeg

2 1/2 cups vegetable broth (you can use chicken if you want, I just made this a vegetarian recipe)

2 1/3 cups water

salt and pepper to taste

*1/2 cup heavy cream and pumpkin seeds for garnish/stir in 

Preheat oven to 450 degrees and put cut up squash on a foil covered baking sheet. Sprinkle butter and salt/pepper on squash and bake for about 30 minutes, or until tender

Melt a tablespoon of butter in a heavy saucepan or dutch oven. Once melted, add in diced onion, apples, bay leaves, and nutmeg. Cook for about five minutes and turn off heat

Add water, broth, squash and salt/pepper to saucepan over medium high heat until liquid starts to boil. Reduce heat to medium and simmer for 20 minutes. Remove soup from heat and stir in heavy cream 

Using a handheld blender, or a regular blender in batches, puree soup until smooth. Add more salt and pepper if needed, and garnish with pumpkin seeds 

Cool remaining soup to room temp, and store in food safe containers for up to a week. Can be frozen for up to two months. 

*add ins-sour cream instead of heavy cream (use half the amount) cilantro, or crumbled bacon 

Image

 

 

6 thoughts on “Camping (sorta) and butternut squash soup”

  1. Janelle, I’m happy to hear your kinda camping is my kinda camping! Or ‘glamping’ as you refer to it. Much more accurate 🙂 Soup weather has arrived and I will be trying this. Thanks!

Leave a comment