Eggplant and cheese side dish

My favorite color is purple.  Random fact about me.  So when I was given this eggplant from a shared CSA bag, I thought why not make a side dish, easy, quick, and filled with cheese.  I mean come on, it’s cheese. This is a vegetarian dish, so you can make it over risotto, with pasta, rice, etc, and make it a main dish. Add a piece of grilled chicken underneath, and you have a healthy lunch or dinner. 

 

Eggplant and cheese side dish

1 eggplant, diced or cubed

8 oz bag of shredded cheese (I used the italian blend, mozzarella would work well also)

15 oz can tomato sauce (I used organic, but I have been known to be uppity)

Italian seasoning or herbs of your choice 

salt and pepper

olive oil 

 

Heat oven to 450 degrees

Grease a baking dish and add diced/cubed eggplant

season with salt and pepper, herbs and olive oil

pour tomato sauce over eggplant, cover with cheese

 

Bake for 15 minutes covered with foil. Reduce temp to 350 and cook for an additional 20 minutes uncovered

 

Serve warm and enjoy!

Image

3 thoughts on “Eggplant and cheese side dish”

  1. What a great way to prepare eggplant. I love eggplant and this certainly is a simple delicious looking way to eat it. 🙂 Glad to see your post. I know how it is when you just don’t feel like cooking or baking…sometimes I’m just flat out tired! 🙂 But then I do come around again. Hope you are feeling inspired again.

Leave a Reply

