Sweet cherry yogurt pops and product review

I was going to wait a few more days to post this, but I am kinda crushing on the pictures, so I am just going to do it. First off let’s start by talking about my problem with “stuff” You know what I mean, things you don’t in any way need but you see it and are like “uh huh, yes I need that in my life” That is what happened with this popsicle maker. I was reading Joy the Baker and she had made some popsicles and linked this popsicle maker http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0000CF7H6/ref=oh_details_o00_s00_i00?ie=UTF8&psc=1. In less than three clicks it was mine. Damn you Amazon for being such a flirt! I usually won’t buy anything that only has one use (thank you Alton Brown for this stern tip) but I had to have this. I don’t regret it either-the pops freeze wonderfully, it comes with sticks! and while you have to run water and tug a little to take them out, they are perfect when you do. So if you are in the market for a popsicle maker, or have a shopping problem, like me, I highly recommend you get this. *see note before making

Onto the pops-I have seen a zillion and one recipes for pops, popsicles with any and all fruit/herbs/juices imaginable. But this is the one I came up with using sweet dark cherries and greek yogurt. Honestly there isn’t that much sugar so it’s a pretty healthy(ish) snack as well. 

 

Sweet cherry yogurt pops

Frozen bag of defrosted sweet dark cherries, 2 cups of fresh cherries pitted, or any mixture of fruit you like (a berry blend would work well, as would mangos, kiwi, strawberries, etc)

16 oz tub of greek yogurt (i used the store brand, but any will do, non fat or regular)

3/4 cup sugar

2 tsp vanilla or one vanilla bean

 

Add 1/2 cup sugar and vanilla to the greek yogurt, stirring well, and divide into two bowls

Puree the cherries with the remaining sugar until smooth. Strain and add to the second bowl of greek yogurt, stirring until combined

Fill the popsicle molds with 1/3 of the cherry yogurt mixture and freeze for 30 minutes

Add 1/3 of the vanilla yogurt to the molds and freeze 15 minutes. If you have any leftover fruit you can add it to the molds at this time.

Add remaining cherry mixture to the molds and freeze for 4-6 hours. 

Enjoy!

*the popsicle maker comes with slots for 10 pops. This recipe used up 8 slots. You can make a bit more to fill the last two or just use any remaining yogurt mixture to snack on!

(this product review is just my own foodie opinion, as I am not affiliated or sponsored by Amazon or the Progressive company that makes this product)

Image

2 thoughts on “Sweet cherry yogurt pops and product review”

Leave a Reply

