My weird relationship with summer and root beer vanilla bean ice cream

I live in a humid state. Fact. Yes, I know I live here by my own free will, but I am mainly here for family reasons. So when summer rolls around, well, it’s not my favorite time of year. I like long sleeves and boots. I also really like ice cream in the winter. But here is a recipe I came up with, and it tastes like a root beer float. So while I stay in the AC, you all enjoy your lakes, boats, and camping. I will watch Netflix and wait for fall 

Root Beer Vanilla Bean Ice Cream

1 cup whole milk

3/4 cup sugar

pinch of salt

2 cups heavy cream

2 bottles root beer

1 vanilla bean or 2 T vanilla extract

Whisk milk, sugar, and salt together until sugar is dissolved

If using an ice cream maker, add heavy cream to maker and start churning. Add root beer, vanilla bean (or extract) and milk mixture. Churn for 30 minutes or however long your maker suggests

If not using an ice cream maker, place all ingredients in a freezer safe bowl and freeze overnight. 

Image

2 thoughts on “My weird relationship with summer and root beer vanilla bean ice cream”

  1. That is a very good tip particularly to those new to the blogosphere. Simple but very precise information… Many thanks for sharing this one. A must read post.

Leave a Reply

