Lemon meringue pie

So I am a tart. Or I think I am. I like things tart, I like to bake tart. So by definition, I am a tart (this is where my wanna be British part comes out) Here is how I made this lovely little gem, which thankfully the light cooperated and I was able to get lovely pictures of. My notes are to use more lemon zest and juice (a tad more) than a recipe calls for. Don’t feel you have to make pie crust if that isn’t your thing, I used Nila Wafers in mine. Have fun, update or old school it, whatever your fancy. 

Lemon Meringue Pie

Pie Crust:

2 cups crushed graham crackers, or cookie crumbs (can also use a baked pie crust as well)

4 Tablespoons butter, melted

1/3 cup sugar

pinch of kosher salt (table if you don’t have kosher)

Preheat oven to 375 degrees

Mix everything together until moist. Pat into a springform pan until even. Cook for 10 minutes or until brown on the edges. Set aside while you make the lemon curd

 

Lemon Curd (from the Professional Pastry Chef by Bo Friberg)

1 1/2 cups lemon juice

zest of 6-8 lemons

8 eggs

24 oz of sugar (1 pound 8 oz)

12 oz unsalted butter

*Ice bath with bowl and strainer ready

 

Combine lemon juice and zest

Beat eggs and sugar in a heavy stainless steel saucepan. Add lemon juice and zest over medium heat, stirring constantly

As mixture heats up, add butter, in one inch cubes, stirring until butter is melted, and lemon curd is thick, do not overheat or burn. 

Strain immediately in a bowl that is in an ice bath 

Pour curd into pie crust, about halfway to 3/4 full and refrigerate for at least two hours, if not overnight. 

 

Meringue topping:

3 egg whites

6 tablespoons sugar

1/2 tsp vanilla

Whip egg whites until 3x in volume, slowly add sugar. Whip until stiff peaks, adding vanilla. 

 

At this point you can broil the top for a few seconds to get the brown crust, or if you are cool and have a torch, torch the ends for a few seconds. Either way brown it up and make it yours!

*I pipe my meringue on to make it fancy, but you can just smooth it and make a tower with a spatula. 

Image

 

Leave a Reply

