I bet you think this post is about you

Ok, so here is a topic we all have knowledge and experience on-love and dating. To start off, I was in a relationship for over 8 1/2 years, since I was 24 years old, so when I got back into the dating world, I was shocked by the changes. Texting seems to be how we get to know each other now. I remember when we would actually talk on the phone for hours, getting to know someone that way before you meet. But nope, text is the wave of the future. Not sure I like it. Sure I text my friends and family, random ramblings and observations. But if we just met, say online and we start texting each other questions, my first thought is “you know how much easier it is to talk to someone and get to know their reactions” Phone calling is like second base now.

For the past almost three years, I have been single. I finished up my culinary certification, I got to know my friends better, hung out with my teenager as much as she would let me, found my passion for baking and photography. All things I feel if I was dating I wouldn’t have done. Plus I went through a pretty hard, and gut wrenching time to get over a love that I thought was going to be forever.

This winter my co-worker and friend decided while I was on vacation that I needed to get back out there. I wasn’t convinced but thought I would give it a try. Let’s chat about the things I have learned so far:

I am not dating anyone whose name starts with the letter D. After a bit of unscientific analysis, I realized all my exes had this initial, and it wasn’t working out. So Frank or Gary, here I am!

I know not all are like this, but the farmer that I came in contact with has a certain “fetish” that would require us to shop at the same store for undergarments. Next

Skype isn’t what I thought it was for. If you think having a gold chain and getting into bar fights/punched in the neck on a Friday night is a good time, I am not the girl for you.

I am not giving up on finding someone funny, and smart, with their own life and hobbies. I just feel that right now isn’t the time for that, unless someone great comes along, then I am ready for that. But if not that is ok too. Right now it’s to get Mad off to college, keep baking and photographing, girls nights, kickboxing, and being awesome.

Next post will have pie in it, promise.

 

2 thoughts on “I bet you think this post is about you”

Leave a Reply

