My brownie recipe

So I realize I am lazy and haven’t been adding many recipes. So here is my go to brownie recipe. And I am not above using a boxed mix (I like Ghirardelli and Duncan Hines) I just add sea salt before I bake to bring out the chocolate flavor. I am currently using Beanilla’s Vanilla Sea Salt when I bake, and I highly recommend it http://www.beanilla.com/vanilla-fleur-de-sel

So brownies:

5 oz cake flour or regular flour

1/4 tsp sea salt 

3/4 tsp baking powder (i use Trader Joe’s and it’s super cheap)

6 oz chocolate chips or chopped chocolate (any kind will do, I usually use semi-sweet)

1 and 1/2 sticks unsalted butter (not room temp and use margarine if you have it)

4 eggs (I use large and brown but just a personal preference)

1/2 tablespoon vanilla extract

1 1/4 cups granulated sugar

Preheat oven to 325. Grease and foil or grease and line with parchment paper a 9×9 pan or a brownie pan 

Mix flour, salt and baking powder in a bowl, set aside

Melt butter and chocolate either in the microwave until smooth or over simmering water in a heatproof bowl. Make sure to stir and watch so chocolate won’t burn. Whisk in vanilla and sugar until mixed. Add one egg at a time, until all four are incorporated. Be careful not to overmix your brownies, you don’t want them tough. 

Add flour and fold until completely mixed into chocolate mixture. 

For extra flavor, sprinkle more sea salt on top of mixture and stir in, smooth brownies with a spatula. 

Bake for 30 to 40 mins, or until a toothpick or cake tester comes out barely crumbly or clean. Let cool for 30 mins and cut into squares. 

Can be kept covered at room temperature for up to 4 days or you can freeze once cool for up to two months. 

Image

 

4 thoughts on “My brownie recipe”

Leave a Reply

